Rootbound | The Elemental Series | Author Shannon Mayer Rootbound | The Elemental Series | Author Shannon Mayer
Shannon Mayer

About the Book

My name is Larkspur, and I am an Elemental.

The world has deteriorated in the years I was banished. The Elemental families are rife with deception, violence, and madness more than ever before.

A voice I know all too well calls me to do her bidding. A voice I no longer wish to hear. The mother goddess begs me to save the four families, and stop my nemesis. To do it, I must face each of the Elemental leaders and take from them the power they hold close: the stones I once entrusted to them.

Now, the secrets I unearth as I pursue the stones shatter everything I know about my world, and everything I was taught.

Yet, I am not the naïve girl I once was. If I am to see this through, I must completely embrace the new reality of my life and all its obstacles while forging ahead.

Four stones abused.
Four families broken.
A half-breed princess as their only hope.

Through it all, the one I love waits for me to find him. When I do, will he, like everything else in my world, not be what he once was?

Buy the Book

Rootbound audiobook by Shannon MayerRootbond GraphicAudio by Shannon Mayer


This book is available as a traditional audiobook AND in a special, dramatized audio edition with a cast and sound effects!

Narrator(s): Lauren Fortgang
Format: 1530947251
Runtime: 7h 49m

Dramatized Audio
Narrators: Chris Davenport, Chris Stinson, Colleen Delany, Dawn Ursula, Eva Wilhelm, Holly Adams, Yasmin Tuazon, Anthony Palmini, Christopher Williams, Elena Anderson, Hannah Curtis
Runtime: 5h 29m


“This is the fifth book in this series and I must say that Shannon Mayer keeps making each new book better than the last one. This book takes place twenty-five years after the end of Windburn when Lark was banished to the desert. In that time she had been through a lot and has evolved into the fierce warrior she is now. In this book, we see her now searching for Ash and again going on another mission on behalf of the Mother Goddess. This story starts off quickly from the beginning and doesn’t slow down till the end. There are many great twists and turns in this story that leave you with your mouth agape more than once. I definitely can’t wait till the next book in the series is released to find out what happens next with Lark.”

– Reviewer

The Details

Published: June 7, 2016
Publisher: Hijinks Ink Publishing
Formats: EbookPaperbackAudiobookDramatized Audio
ISBN-10: 1530947251 ISBN-13: 978-1530947256 ASIN: B01CPQZYKC
Genres & Tropes
Epic Fantasy, Paranormal Fantasy, Fantasy